Paleo and the Oil Change Diet

The Oil Change Diet has been very good for me and I have heard good news from many other people who have balanced their omega 6/3 ratio. However, it was my wife’s diabetes that actually got me to read the chapter in “Protein Power” that led me to discover the importance of balancing my omega 6/3 ratio. While the Oil Change Diet has helped her maintain a A1C below 6, she was still not loosing weight and her blood glucose was still slightly above normal.

The Paleo Diet is another diet that will result in a balanced omega 6/3 ratio, and after I attended a seminar on the Paleo Diet by Robb Wolf, I told my wife about it. The big difference between the Paleo Diet and the Oil Change Diet is that the Paleo Diet requires total avoidance of grains and grain based products. The Paleo diet focuses on fruits, veggies, meats and seafood. The meats need to be wild game or grass fed meats which can be hard to find, but after a month of following the Paleo Diet, my wife has lost 12 pounds and her blood glucose has been completely normal for the last few days.

While it can be difficult to completely avoid grain and grain products, it is not as hard as you might think. Fruits, veggies, meat, eggs and seafood have been a big part of my Oil Change diet. Stir fried veggies (sauteed in coconut oil), grilled or roasted veggies and meats and seafood,  and salads have become our mainstay. I use coconut and almond flour in place of wheat flour and arrowrood powder in place of cornstarch. The benefits go beyond diabetes, the Paleo Diet also helps with intestinal disorders and many auto-immune diseases.

I am still following my Oil Change Diet and I use the information of the amount of omega-6 and omega-3 in various foods to make sure we both maintain a balanced 6/3 ratio. I have significantly reduced my intake of any grain products like bread, pasta, and rice.

 

l Love seeing your comments

